A nurses moment…

I walk upon one of my patients sitting alone in his room in the dark. He sits pacing uncontrollably as he talks to himself and hallucinates. He is battling Alzheimer disease. My heart breaks. I sit next to him and ask if i can hold him. He stops his pacing and calms down that I can kiss his forehead and hold him. As I look at him holding me I began to cry…Lord I don’t understand this disease and it breaks my heart to see someone battling this. I wanted to remove his pain and give him an answer but couldn’t. But I asked him as I held his hand if we can pray together and he said yes. And at that moment I realized the best I can do at that time of his loneliness is hold him and tell him that I care. “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God” 2 Cor 1:3-4 I looked at him and I saw myself. I saw how broken I am and how desperately I need a Savior. How desperate I’m in need of a Comforter. Lord may we be aware of our deprived condition and seek you. And with every opportunity we get may we display your love and compassion in the midst of our lack of understanding. Amen. I was drawn to this song because it shows that sometimes when you feel your all is not enough God still shows up and gives us the guidance we need.

Leave a Reply

