War Room-A Reflection

Okay so who watched this movie, War room and what were your reflections on it!? For me, I honestly have to say I’m humbled and grateful for this movie. I truly am for I believe in my season of dryness, this was the catalyst God used to ignite my intimacy with Him. I never watched a movie where it had so much impact on me personally and changed the way I view my own prayer closest. This movie illuminated the power of prayer and what it does behind the physical things seen. It brought to life 2 Corinthians 10 verses 3-4 when it says, “For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.” Amen. I had to repent of my ignorance on how I viewed prayer because how I viewed prayer at times was with a laid back approach. God forgive me for this. Now I see prayer as something needed daily because the evil spirits of this world don’t sleep. They wage war daily with God’s people. So how do I stand on guard and alert at the attacks of the rulers, authorities of this dark world, and spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms? (Eph 6:12) Through fervent, relentless, and passionate prayer! This is how I overcome!  

Back story behind this movie, the first time I watched it, I went into it thinking it will just be another “inspirational movie.” Shed a few tears here and there(which I surprisingly didn’t), enjoy some company with my brothers and sisters, and continue my life as normal. I wasn’t in the “mood” at that time to be changed and being very transparent here after the movie I told myself, “This movie wasn’t that big of a deal, pffft”. Yeah I told myself that. But when I went home that night God did something supernatural and slowly opened my heart that (and I write this in laughter because the way God works is amazing) the next two days I got open my Bible and started writing out prayers for my family and got my Prayer Closet in order. I smile at how God works in the most arrogant and stubborn of hearts. I didn’t think this movie would change me but two days later it gripped me and I have been hooked on prayer ever since. I actually watched War room a second time with my dear friend and her son and so funny I couldn’t stop crying this time!! Even powerful the second time around. After watching, I went to my friend’s house and we prayed. My friend, her son, and me, all shared what we learned from the movie and sought God in prayer. It was honestly such a precious time for me and just to see the impact of what the movie was doing in this little child’s heart.

For those who happened to stumble upon my post and never watched War room, please do. Prepare to be changed. This is not a movie for wimps. Prepare to act and labor in prayer. Be open and let God surprise you. My first time watching, I was skeptical but open and God used that.  Prepare to let God use this movie to change you! 

My God is faithful. And my God is powerful. And my God is in charge.

~War Room 

Leave a Reply

